Parkway Playhouse Family “The Smoker Kaufmanns”

Those two last names really shouldn’t get put together – cough cough – but there you have it.  Britt Kaufmann and Drew Smoker are the last family pair in the cast to be featured.

britt and drewThis one is a little bit hard to write, because it’s me, Britt, who has been interviewing the other families and it feels a little weird to ask myself questions.  Plus, I hesitate to ask myself any questions because I know I have a tendency to go on and on!  Ha!

I will say, this being my first play, I had no problem with the memorization  (because I have a whopping total of 4 lines) — but what has been eye-opening for me is ALL THE OTHER STUFF that happens, even when I’m not on stage saying lines: 4 costume changes (not mentioning the 4 I help my daughter with), opening the door at the right time, closing the door at the right time, making sure my mic is on mute when I’m off stage (eep!), removing sheets from onstage inconspicuously, keeping track of props… HOLY COW there’s so much going on!  I wasn’t really prepared for all that.

Theatre is my daughter Drew’s thing.  This is her 4th play (I think) and she’s in the Parkway Playhouse Junior Company.  So, I go to her for advice.  (Which is kinda cool.)  She was tickled when the two new scenes were added because that gave her a larger role.  She does a pretty good job dealing with having me as a part of the cast, though she does get annoyed when I keep asking her if I’m doing ok.  “You’re doing just fine, Mom,” she says rolling her eyes.  “Just quit worrying about it.”

Well, tonight is opening!  We hope to see you there.

Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

Leave a Reply

