Walking Across Egypt Actor Spotlight – Steve Elderbrock as Robert Rigsby

photoWhat is a typical day like for you?

I am the pastor at First Presbyterian Church in Burnsville…and so far have never had a “typical” day…still waiting.

Have you met new friends in the cast? Do you do things together outside of rehearsals?

One of the real joys of being involved in the Playhouse is meeting new people I might not otherwise meet…but no one told me we were supposed to do anything outside of rehearsals.  Or maybe I just haven’t been invited yet.

What has been your favorite moment from rehearsals?

Anytime Bobby (Stage Manager) is filling in for someone.

What is your favorite line from the show?  Why?

“It is mine anyway, when you DIE.”  Fun to be able to say mean things on stage, since I usually try to avoid that in daily life.

Are there people in your life who have never seen you on stage?

I don’t think Jennifer Lawrence has seen me on stage yet.

At what age did you first know you wanted to act?

I played Peter Rabbit in a class play in kindergarten…that pretty much sealed my fate.

What’s the #1 reason someone should see this show?

Local cast, great story, some laughs, some touching moments, chance to support a local treasure (Parkway Playhouse) and all at a reasonable price.  What’s not to like?

Do you have a favorite Hymn?

I have always liked “A Mighty Fortress is Our God.”  But I am also partial to “Amazing Grace.”

If you could appear onstage with any classic actor or actress, who would it be and why?

I would love to have seen the Marx Brothers on Broadway…never really thought about appearing with them, but that would be even better…I could call myself “Stevo”

Anything else that you’d like people to know about you?

I suspect if they have made it this far they have already learned more than they ever wanted to about me…

buy-tickets-now

NEW Walking Egypt Banner

Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

Leave a Reply

