Ghost Riders Actor Spotlight – Jenny Martin

photo1Q: What shows might people have seen you in before?

JM: I played Sis in Leaving Iowa, Elizabeth in Pride and Predjudice, Catherine in Uncivil Union: The Battle of Burnsville, Fred’s wife in A Christmas Carol, and most recently, Maggie in Dancing at Lughnasa. I also directed Seussical, Big River, and The Complete History of America: abridged.

Q: What is a typical day like for you?

JM: I teach theatre at Cane River and East Yancey Middle Schools to grades 6-8. We do one production a year, and I direct or act in about 2-3 shows per year at Parkway.

Q: Have you met new friends in the cast?

JM: I knew pretty much everyone in this cast from previous shows. There are several cast members whom I taught at EY or CR which is fun; I like seeing them grow up and continue to be involved in theatre.

Q: What has been your favorite moment from rehearsals?

JM: Laundry jokes during the camp scene.

Q: What is your favorite line from the show?

Not a line, but a moment.  I love the scene where Trinity (Malinda) gives her baby to her cousin. It’s very powerful and poignant–it takes quite a bit to make me cry, but I get very emotional when she does it; I always think about what it would’ve been like to give up my son at 6 months old.  Heartbreaking!

Q: At what age did you first know you wanted to act?

JM: When I was in 4th grade, I was in a play about the Civil War (ironically!) and was bitten by the bug.

Q: What’s the #1 reason someone should see this show?

JM: It has an all-star cast, is EXTREMELY well written and directed, and the technical elements are going to be awesome.  It’s fun, historical, and has something for everyone.

Q: If you could appear onstage with any classic actor or actress, who would it be and why?

JM: He’s not really “classic,”  but as my students know, I’m a little obsessed with Hugh Jackman.  I think he is amazingly versatile, and also extremely attractive…

Q: What is it like to work on a world premiere play?

JM: It’s fun.  This is the second one of these I’ve done (the first was Uncivil Union) and I like watching the script evolve and change.

 

buy-tickets-now

 

GHOST RIDERS copy

Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

Leave a Reply

