The King & I Actor Spotlight – Amy, Jack & Turner Weinmeister

photo 3 (1)Q: Why did you audition for The King & I?

AW: I love musicals. Period.

JW: Forced family fun.

TW: My mom wanted me to.

Q: What shows might people have seen you in before?

AW: At Parkway, I’ve appeared in 9-5, Peter Pan, and Sherlock Holmes: The Curse of the Bloody Heart. I’ve also danced with High Country Youth Ballet’s The Nutcracker for the past three years.

JW: Alice in Wonderland, I Never Saw Another Butterfly

TW: The Nutcracker, Christmas pageants, and Alice in Wonderland

Q: What is a typical day like for you?

AW: I work as environmental educator part-time at the Orchard at Altapass. I also volunteer in Yancy County schools and serve on various non-profit boards, including Parkway Playhouse.

JW: I go to school at East Yancey Middle.

TW: I usually go to school, play with friends, or just chill.

Q: Have you met new friends in the cast?

AW: I am always thrilled to meet new folks in the cast, some who live in town and some I keep track of through Facebook.

JW: I have seen older friends, but not met new ones.

TW: I’ve met new friends, but I haven’t done anything with them in the outside world.

Q: What has been your favorite moment from rehearsals?

AW: Learning choreography is usually my favorite. I have yet to watch my sons in their roles.

JW: Getting to have fun with the cast.

TW: Meeting new people.

Q: What is your favorite line or song from the show?

AW: When Tuptim pronounces “O-hi-o” (the state) as “Oh-hee-oh” as she retells Uncle Tom’s Cabin is my favorite line, because it’s clearly a laugh/gaff line underscoring how we all convolute one another’s languages and cultures.

JW: The line I like most is when the King continues to say “Etcetera, etcetera, etcetera.”

TW: I Whistle a Happy Tune, because it’s such a fun song to sing.

Q: Are there people in your life who have never seen you on stage? What do you think will surprise them?

AW: Possibly, yes, I’m sure. Nothing would surprise them though.

JW: I think the people who haven’t seen me on stage will be very surprised by the mood of the play.

TW: Yes, and I think they have never seen me do a big act like this.

Q: At what age did you first know you wanted to act?

AW: Freshman year in high school, although we’d (my friends, sisters, and I) been putting on “summer stock” neighborhood plays throughout my childhood.

JW: I was about 9 when I first wanted to start acting.

TW: I think it was 6.

Q: What’s the #1 reason someone should see this show?

AW: The folks at Parkway excel at big musical productions. They’re always fun!

JW: It is a funny and eventful play.

TW: Everyone has worked so hard, and they would love the play.

Q: If you could appear onstage with any classic actor or actress, who would it be and why?

AW: Sir Ian McKellen is just an amazing actor, multifaceted, rich. I also am a Meryl Streep fan because she can play anyone.

JW: I would like to work with Harrison Ford because I’ve been watching his movies since I was little.

TW: Harrison Ford, because he is an AWESOME actor and he would be a lot of fun to work with.

Q: What is it like to work on a Rodgers and Hammerstein production?

AW: R&H make profound commentary on social, cultural, and race/gender issues while completely entertaining the audience.

JW: It’s pretty hard but still fun all the same.

TW: It’s great! Challenging, but GREAT!

Q: Anything else that you’d like people to know about you?

AW: I met Bono in 1987. I’d just been in a car accident, and my face was all cut up. When I told him I was in a “wreck” (because he asked what happened to my face), he asked “What’s a wreck?” I taught Bono a new word.

JW: No, not really.

TW: No thank you!

buy-tickets-now

KING AND I BANNER copy

Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

One thought on “The King & I Actor Spotlight – Amy, Jack & Turner Weinmeister”

Leave a Reply

