The King & I Actor Spotlight – Kyler Honeycutt

photo (2)Q: Why did you audition for The King & I?

KH: I auditioned for The King and I because I was excited about all of the different kinds of music in the play.

Q: What shows might people have seen you in before?

KH: People might have seen me in a show called I Never Saw Another Butterfly directed by Jenny Martin. Which was a really fun play to be in.

Q: What is a typical day like for you?

KH: I really love to read. It’s one of my favorite thing to do and I do it almost on a daily basis. And I will be going to Mountain Heritage High.

Q: Have you met new friends in the cast?

KH: I have a lot of friends in this cast,  including Olivia Hughes, Isabelle Hughes, Jack Weinmeister, Turner Weinmeister and Olivia Morgan.

Q: What has been your favorite moment from rehearsals?

KH: Probably the whole time because we joked around every rehearsal. Sure we listened. But we joked to. There are so many good memories I can’t pick out Just one. Or even a few.

Q: What is your favorite song from the show?

KH: One of my favorite songs in this play is “Getting to Know You” it tells a lot about how Anna has a special bond or connection with the children.

Q: Are there people in your life who have never seen you on stage?

KH: I can’t think of anyone who has never been to one of my plays. But, one thing I think will surprise everyone is that I have never been in a musical before and I can’t dance. So I think my family will be pretty surprised to see me dance and sing on stage.

Q: At what age did you first know you wanted to act?

KH: When I first knew I wanted to act was right in the middle of I Never Saw Another Butterfly. I always knew I liked to act but that was when I became more serious about it.

Q:What’s the #1 reason someone should see this show?

KH: The number one reason I think someone should see this production is because it’s very interesting and with some humor here and there.

Q: If you could appear onstage with any classic actor or actress, who would it be and why?

KH: One person that I would like to act with is Adam Sandler, because he is really funny and really well known.

Q: What is it like to work on a Rodgers and Hammerstein production?

KH:  It’s interesting. In a good way. A lot different than anything I’ve ever done before.

Q: Anything else that you’d like people to know about you?

KH:  Some people say I’m funny. But I don’t know. I love doing stuff outdoors such as riding motorcycles with my grandpa, kayaking, jet skiing, going to the lake with my family, swimming, riding four wheelers, and hanging out with my friends.

buy-tickets-now

KING AND I BANNER copy

Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

Leave a Reply

