The King & I Actor Spotlight – Olivia Hughes

DSC_9087 - Version 2Q: Why did you audition for The King & I?

OH: Well for one, it was the only show that had lots of kids! And also because I thought it would be really exciting to be a part of a Rodgers and Hammerstein musical.

Q: What shows might people have seen you in before?

OH: My first show was at Parkway, (as were most of the shows I’ve been in), and was The Miracle Worker in 2011. I have also been in Seussical, Peter Pan, A Christmas Carol, A Beautiful Star, and 4 Parkway Playhouse junior productions.

Q: What is a typical day like for you?

OH: I’m homeschooled so I do school whenever I can! I’m a High School Apprentice at Parkway and I take piano lessons plus I also act in shows here so I’m usually very busy.

Q: Have you met new friends in the cast?

OH: I actually reconnected with a friend I was in Alice in Wonderland with in 2012! I’m very glad we’re in this show together.

Q: What has been your favorite moment from rehearsals?

OH: I really enjoy hearing Clara (Anna) and Myra (Tuptim) singing. Their voices are reason enough to come see the show!

Q: What is your favorite line or song from the show?

OH: We Kiss in a Shadow, Hello Young Lovers, and Shall I Tell You What I Think of You. The first one is so beautiful and tragic and the second is hilarious. As for my favorite line, “Give us a kick if you would your majesty. Oh that was good your majesty!” Which is from Shall I Tell You What I Think of You.

Q: Are there people in your life who have never seen you on stage?

OH: I have an Aunt and Uncle who haven’t seem me act and I think they would be surprised cause I’m usually pretty quiet and reserved, but I really can’t be onstage!

Q: At what age did you first know you wanted to act?

OH: When I was 9 my oldest sister started doing things at Parkway. I wasn’t really interested but the next year I decided I would audition for Miracle Worker and I’m so glad I did!

Q: What’s the #1 reason someone should see this show?

OH: Because why would you pass up an opportunity to see a Rodgers and Hammerstein show? Especially one with this cast!

Q: If you could appear onstage with any classic actor or actress, who would it be and why?

OH: Does Helena Bonham Carter count as a “Classic” actress?

Q: What is it like to work on a Rodgers and Hammerstein production?

OH: Much different from any show I’ve done before. This is probably the most sad play I’ve been in. All of the other shows I’ve done has been Christmas shows or Disney or Seuss, with the exception of Miracle Worker, so I’ve really enjoyed doing something I’m not used to.

Q: Anything else that you’d like people to know about you?

OH: I’m pretty shy! I usually don’t approach strangers myself, but if someone comes up to me, I really enjoy talking and getting to know them.

buy-tickets-now

KING AND I BANNER copy

 

Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

One thought on “The King & I Actor Spotlight – Olivia Hughes”

Leave a Reply

