The King & I Actor Spotlight – Jason Sterling as King

DSC_8978 - Version 2
photo by Rob Storrs

Q: Why did you audition for The King & I?

JS: I missed the stage.

Q: What shows might people have seen you in before?

JS: Nothing in the past 12-13 years.

Q: What is a typical day like for you?

JS: Every typical day is different.  I work at the Arthur Morgan School, a small farm and outdoor boarding school where staff and students have classes, repair buildings, cook, clean, garden and milk cows together.  Depending on the day, I might be teaching Algebra or English, shoveling mud out of ditches, or helping cook for several dozen people.

Q: Have you met new friends in the cast?

JS: I’ve met a lot of wonderful people doing this show, and look forward to connecting with them more in the future.  I haven’t spent time outside of rehearsal with folks, which is more a consequence of busy schedules than anything else.

Q: What has been your favorite moment from rehearsals?

JS: All of them.  This has been a wonderful cast and crew to work with.

Q: What is your favorite line from the show?

JS: I say, “Who? Who? Who?” a few times.  I cracks me up, because I have to be so serious, and I always feel like an barred owl.

Q: Are there people in your life who have never seen you on stage?

JS: Yes, many of my friends have never seen me perform.  I think their greatest surprise will be me on the stage at all.  I hope it’s a good one.

Q: At what age did you first know you wanted to act?

JS: When I was in third grade, the school had one of those mandatory performances for all children.  That was my first relationship with theater, as Little Lord Fauntleroy, but it wasn’t until high school that the bug really bit me. 

Q: What’s the #1 reason someone should see this show?

JS: Because it’s The King and I and everyone is doing such strong work on this show.  It will be moving, fun and funny.  I think.

Q: If you could appear onstage with any classic actor or actress, who would it be and why?

JS: Is it cliche to say Shakespeare?  He was my focus in college, and I still drool over his skill with words.  I would love to learn how he wanted his work spoken.

Q: What is it like to work on a Rodgers and Hammerstein production?

JS: Big and busy.  Lots of choreography and music.  Fun.

buy-tickets-nowKING AND I BANNER copy

 

Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

Leave a Reply

