The King & I Actor Spotlight – Dalton Woody as Lun Tha

Head ShotQ: Why did you audition for The King & I?

DW: I auditioned for The King and I because I enjoy Rodgers and Hammerstein and I would like to continue building and expanding my repertoire.

Q: What shows might people have seen you in before?

DW: Last season, people would have seen me in The Mystery of Eswin Drood at the Parkway Playhouse. I have also appeared in several shows with the Asheville Lyric Opera company including: Don Giovanni, Pagliacci, and Carousel.

Q: What is a typical day like for you?

DW: My typical day at Mars Hill University begins early in the morning around eight and is full of mostly music class until nearly six pm each day. Then, of course, comes the homework!

Q: Have you met new friends in the cast?

DW: Yes, I have met some new people and have gotten to know some people better through the rehearsal process. I haven’t done much outside of rehearsal with other cast members; however, I would like to do more in the future.

Q: What has been your favorite moment from rehearsals?

DW: My favorite part of any rehearsal process is developing the character that I have been cast as. It is really cool seeing what others do around you and how this will affect your character. In the end, I really try to own the character that I have “created”.

Q: What is your favorite line from the show?

DW: My favorite line is the King’s “It is a false lie!” I think this is the funniest line in the entire play.

Q: Are there people in your life who have never seen you on stage?

DW: Yes, actually my family from Florida should be in town for the show. I think that the singing and acting together will surprise them. They have all heard me sing but they haven’t seen me act.

Q: At what age did you first know you wanted to act?

DW: I actually didn’t decide to be a vocal major until my senior year of high school and even then, I went to college for music education. It wasn’t until after my first taste of opera during my sophomore year of college that I decided that I wanted to go into acting as well as singing.

Q: What’s the #1 reason someone should see this show?

DW: I believe that this show has a little bit of everything. There is not only plenty of good acting but also funny moments, serious undertones, and some great music. You might even leave with one of the tunes stuck in your head for days.

Q: If you could appear onstage with any classic actor or actress, who would it be and why?

DW: I don’t actually know many classic actors, but I know opera singers. I would love to be able to sing the Pearl Fishers duet with Luciano Pavarotti.

Q: What is it like to work on a Rodgers and Hammerstein production?

DW: Rodgers and Hammerstein is difficult to perform. Most of their musicals were written in different time periods, sometimes even centuries ago. It is a challenge to bring these musicals to life because it can be a struggle to place yourself in a time period in which you have never lived.

buy-tickets-now

KING AND I BANNER copy

 

Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

Leave a Reply

