Treasure Island Actor Spotlight – Rob Storrs as Captain Flint/Dr. Livesy

photoQ: Why did you audition for Treasure Island?

RS: I loved reading this story as a child. Doing it as an adult, I recognize myself cutting hawsers to freedom yet uncertainty, riding out waves in unsteerable coracles, tromping through jungles looking for stockades and treasures. Grown-up digital cutlasses and three-piece suit pirates are no less dangerous!

Q: What shows might people have seen you in before?

RS: This season I’ve acted in Walking Across Egypt and Ghost Riders, and will be in Midsummer Night’s Dream.

Q: What is a typical day like for you?

RS: I’m retired from 25 years at the Post Office and 19 years teaching at UNCA, so I garden, hike with my dogs, search for the perfect martini, and struggle with the Braves batting average (hands inside the ball!).

Q: Have you met new friends in the cast?

RS: Yes! Jason, Jered & Elijah are great new shipmates, the Keystone Cop antics of Levi & the Jordans are (mostly) endearing, planning fishing trips with Haven is an extravagant buried treasure, and searching for a beer in Burnsville AFTER a show occupies my time with Andrew and Bruce.

Q: What has been your favorite moment from rehearsals?

RS: I enjoyed the rehearsal when Jason unleashed his Ben Gunn upon us. It was so warped, hyper-agitated, lyrical, and the only thing that calmed him was — CHEESE! (But if he lived with goats, why no cheese? I think RLS needs to rewrite!!)

Q: What is your favorite line from the show?

RS: Trelawney’s “I am extremely irked.” It is said by my son, Will.

Q: Are there people in your life who have never seen you on stage?

RS: My dog, Nina, was in “Outlander” with me, so she is a stage partner, but my daughter’s dog, Murphy, would want to vocalize on the “Yo, Ho, Ho’s”!

Q: At what age did you first know you wanted to act?

RS: In high school. I participated in my second public kiss on stage as Peter, locking lips with Anne Frank in an attic in Germany. But I drifted toward theatre as a career when I “cut the hawser” from Psychology in college. I wanted to do something REAL, so I chose the arts.

Q: What’s the #1 reason someone should see this show?

RS: If you’re still looking for your father and find him inside of yourself; if you still get excited by planning adventures to unknown climes (even if it’s just to Lickskillet or Bear Wallow!); if you can’t swim but still want to sign on to an ocean voyage; if you ever made a promise to your father or your mother and didn’t think you were good enough to make it come true — “Treasure Island” is for you.

Q: Do you have a favorite pirate slang or joke?

RS: Why can’t a pirate ever get to sea? Because he can’t decide which river to sail up past Pittsburgh!

Why can’t a pirate ever get drunk? Because he keeps dumping his cargo in Molasses Creek on Ocracoke Island!

Q: What is your favorite pirate movie?

RS: “Pirate Radio”, “Captain Blood”, “Ice Pirates”, but I’m waiting for the movie Jimmy Buffet will make: “A Pirate Looks at 60”. Maybe there’ll be a margarita after dark in Burnsville by then!

Q: Anything else that you’d like people to know about you?

RS: I love photography and am saving up my Green Stamps to get a better camera. Thanks to Parkway for allowing me to photograph this season.

buy-tickets-nowTREASURE ISLAND copy

Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

Leave a Reply

