A Midsummer Night’s Dream Actor Spotlight – Rob Storrs as Robin Starveling/Moonshine

photoQ: Why did you auditions for A Midsummer Night’s Dream?

RS: It is Shakespeare! I’ve played Theseus once, and Lysander three times, but never a Mechanical. Lucky me!

Q: What shows might people have seen you in before?

RS: The Giver at TheatreUNCA; Limonade Tous Les Jeurs at 35 Below; Walking Across Egypt and Romeo and Juliet at Parkway Playhouse; and The Nutcracker at High Country Ballet.

Q: What is a typical day like for you?

RS: I recently told Jason, my dishwasher repair man, that I was retired from 2 jobs, but still had to go to work at night for my third one (Parkway). He commiserated about my having to work the late shift. Typically I work on rejuvenating my house with my bride: painting, woodworking, updating appliances, and yes, doing the dishes (thanks, Jason!).

Q: Have you met new friends in the cast?

RS: I believe this is the 10th time I’ve met my son on stage. Outside of rehearsals I meet him on a regular basis at the auto shop to help him repair flat tires.

Q: What has been your favorite moment from rehearsals?

RS: Listening to Andrea Bailey “slow jam” a faerie rondel for Titania.

Q: What is your favorite line from the show?

RS: “I am amazed and know not what to say,” Hermia’s response to co-ed camping in the woods.

Q: Are there people in your life who have never seen you on stage?

RS: Recently a colleague from graduate school and her husband happened by Parkway looking for tickets and were dumbfounded to find out that I still trod the boards. I hope they remember a slimmer me, and perhaps note that time has been kind to my craft.

Q: At what age did you first know you wanted to act?

RS: I attended an all-male Episcopal church school from Primer Form through high school. I entertained the notion of becoming a preacher and having a captive audience for one hour a week. I’m glad I now attend the church of storytelling and “preach” to a ticket-buying audience-of-choice for over two hours a night!

Q: What’s the #1 reason someone should see this show?

RS: No matter whether you are a Faerie, an Athenian, or a Rude Mechanical, hypocrisy and pedantry are mocked, and man’s foibles are held up to true reason’s sunlight – but forgiven in true love’s moonlight.

Q: Do you have a favorite Shakespeare line?

RS: Theseus’s speech in Act V: “The best in this kind are but shadows, and the worst are no worse if imagination amend them.”

Q: What is your favorite Shakespeare play?

RS: As I progress through the Seven Ages of Man, the NEXT play is my favorite.

Q: Anything else that you’d like people to know about you?

RS: My mother, now 94, has always supported me in my choice of a life in the theatre. As she approaches Act V in those Ages of Womankind, I hope she has many more juicy speeches to deliver.

buy-tickets-nowmidsummer banner copy

Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

Leave a Reply

