Guys & Dolls Jr Actor Spotlight – Logan Walden as Sky Masterson

DSC_0028 - Version 2
photo by Rob Storrs

Q: What has been your favorite part of being in this cast?

LW: I have really enjoyed the bonds that I have formed with the cast. I have known most of them for a while, but the show has forced me to get to know them better.

Q: Who is your favorite character in Guys & Dolls, Jr.?

LW: Adelaide is my favorite character. It takes a lot of skill to master the comic timing required to portray her.

Q: Have you made any new friends in this cast?

LW: I’ve known everyone in the cast for a while… I have just gotten closer to them.

Q: How many shows have you been cast in to date?

LW: A little more than 22.

Q: What other shows might people recognize you from?

LW: This season I was in Willy Wonka, Ghost Riders, The King & I and A Midsummer Night’s Dream.

Q: What do you have in common with your character? What makes you different from your character?

LW: I don’t think Sky Masterson and I share any traits. He is super confident, arrogant and smooth with the ladies… and I’m over here like “You’re pretty… do you maybe possibly wanna be my girlfriend” *giggles*

Q: What have you learned about yourself since participating in the Parkway Playhouse Junior program?

LW: I have learned that when surrounded with people who love what they do and who they are you just cannot help but feel at home.

Q: What is your favorite play and/or musical?

LW: My favorite straight play is probably Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead. My favorite musical is Phantom of the Opera.

Q: What is it like working with the Parkway Playhouse Junior instructors, directors and/or staff?

LW: It is very professional, but never uptight….. Most of the time I am having too much fun to realize I am working.

Q: How has this show been different from previous theatrical experiences you’ve had?

LW: I feel like I have learned more about myself and how to connect with fellow actors in this show than any others I can think of.

Q: What are some of your favorite aspects of participating in theater?

LW: Geeze…this sounds like a lazy answer, but I like everything about my art.

Q: What has been your biggest challenge so far while rehearsing this show?

LW: Learning how to flirt…if you see the show you will understand.

Q: Why do you think folks should come and see this production of Guys & Dolls, Jr.?

LW: The ensemble is marvelous, the choreography is wonderful, the singing is incredible… and it’s so dog gone funny.

Q: Are you excited about the 2015 Junior Theater Festival?

LW: I am very excited, the whole thing is bittersweet though, this is sadly my last JTF… growing up isn’t fun, pretty soon I’ll have responsibility *eeeeek*

Q: How old were you when you first decided you wanted to perform?

LW: 10 years old…I was a little scamp and I loved being the center of attention.

Q: What is your favorite song from the show?

LW: My favorite song is and always will be “Sit Down You’re Rockin’ The Boat”

Q: Is there anything else you think people should know about Parkway Playhouse Junior or Guys & Dolls, Jr.?

LW: *Whispers* They are holding my family hostage and making me do this! HELP!

guys & dolls jr banner copy

Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

Leave a Reply

