Guys & Dolls Jr Actor Spotlight – Olivia Hughes as Hot Box Dancer

imageQ: What has been your favorite part of being in this cast?

OH: I’ve been in shows with most of the people in the cast before, but not everyone, so I’ve definitely loved making new friends and becoming closer to people I already know.

Q: How many shows have you been cast in to date?

OH: I’ve been in 6 main stage productions and 5 junior shows, all at Parkway Playhouse.

Q: What other shows might people recognize you from?

OH: I was in The King & I earlier this year as a Siamese Princess, and in 2013 I was in The Little Mermaid Jr, A Christmas Carol, Peter Pan and Mulan Jr. I was also in several other shows in previous years.

Q: What have you learned about yourself since participating in the Parkway Playhouse Junior program?

OH: I’m not as shy when I’m around people who are passionate about the same things as me! I open up a lot more.

Q: What is your favorite musical?

OH: I was in Seussical in 2011 and it was one of the funnest shows I’ve ever done, so that would have to be one. I also really love music from The Phantom of the Opera.

Q: What is it like working with the Parkway Playhouse Junior instructors, directors and/or staff?

OH: I’ve learned so much from all of the instructors over the past few years. They’re all so helpful and patient. I’m very blessed and thankful to have them teaching me.

Q: How has this show been different from previous theatrical experiences?

OH: I dance a lot more in this show. I think it’s probably the funniest show I’ve done too.

Q: What are some of your favorite aspects of participating in theater?

OH: I absolutely love being able to live in a different time period through acting. There are so many times and places I wish I could travel to but can’t, so this is the next best thing! It’s also a wonderful feeling to make the audience laugh, or cry. The reaction I get when onstage is the best feeling in the world.

Q: What has been your biggest challenge so far while rehearsing this show?

OH: Probably the accents. Even when we don’t have many lines, it’s hard to incorporate our accents into our singing. But it’s been fun and interesting.

Q: Why do you think folks should come and see this production of Guys & Dolls, Jr.?

OH: We’ve all worked so hard on it and as a result, it’s going to be a really fun and hilarious show!

Q: Are you excited about the 2015 Junior Theater Festival?

OH: I’m extremely excited. I’ve been twice before, in 2012 and this past January, and to me it just got better! I learn so much there and it’s just such a wonderful, fun experience.

Q: How old were you when you first decided you wanted to perform?

OH: I’ve always thought acting would be really fun, but I never got involved until my sister started doing things at Parkway. When I was 10, I auditioned for Miracle Worker and was cast as a blind girl. I loved it so much I kept auditioning for more shows and really just fell in love with theater!

Q: What is your favorite song from the show?

OH: Either Bushel and a Peck, or Luck be a Lady. The choreography and the songs themselves are just really fun.

Q: Is there anything else you think people should know about Parkway Playhouse Junior or Guys & Dolls Jr.?

OH: This show is one of my favorite shows I’ve done, also one of the funniest! And I have been in some funny shows, so you don’t want to miss it!!!

guys & dolls jr banner copy

Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

Leave a Reply

