Guys & Dolls Jr Actor Spotlight – Kade Hoilman as Benny Southstreet

photo by Rob Storrs
photo by Rob Storrs

Q: How many shows have you been cast in to date?

KH: I’ve been acting since I was 8 and have been cast in 11 shows counting this one.

Q: What other shows might people recognize you from?

KH: Aladdin (Genie), Pirates of Penzance (Samuel), Peter Pan (Slightly Soiled), The Little Mermaid (Scuttle), Willy Wonka (Candyman), Aristocats (Thomas O’Malley).

Q: What do you have in common with your character? What makes you different from your character?

KH: We are both sneaky. But I don’t gamble and I’m not old enough.

Q: What is your favorite musical?

KH: Aladdin because I loved the part I played and I was so much like him (Genie).

Q: Do you have people in your life who have never seen you perform before?

KH: Yes. My cousin Christian, my Aunt Heather and my cousin Vena.

Q: Do you think there will be some people in your life who are surprised to see you on stage?

KH: Yes. Some of my friends at school.

Q: What are some of your favorite aspects of participating in theater?

KH: I like singing, getting to develop my acting skills, the friends I’ve made and the people I’ve met.

Q: What has been your biggest challenge so far while rehearsing this show?

KH: Choreography because it’s the hardest choreography I’ve ever done.

Q: How old were you when you first decided you wanted to perform?

KH: 8

Q: What is your favorite song from this show?

KH: Luck be a Lady.

guys & dolls jr banner copy

Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

Leave a Reply

