Quiltmaker Profile: Renee Wessel

rw quilt square

Quilter: Renee Wessel

Blocks: Chinese Puzzle & Air Castle

I have made two blocks for the quilt. One of the blocks is called a Chinese Puzzle which I chose because it looks like two p’s reminding me of Parkway Playhouse. The other block is called Air Castle. I am a past Parkway Playhouse board member and have volunteered as an usher, doing bookkeeping, cleaning, baking treats, sewing costumes and supporting my husband Armin as he has performed in many plays over the years. I am thankful we have this wonderful theater in Burnsville.

I learned to sew from my mother. My first project was sewing clothes for my troll doll. I have had a passion for sewing for over 50 years ranging from sewing for my children and myself, making gifts, home dec, sewing costumes, and designing my daughter’s wedding gown. I started quilting 20 years ago and enjoy making quilts for family and friends, especially my granddaughters. You can often find me at the Monday Sewing Group at Higgins Memorial United Methodist Church where we sew items ranging from nursing pads, to lap quilts, baby quilts and children’s clothing for local and international missions.

We are so thankful to include Renee’s stories and blocks in the quilt. (Love the PP design, too!) More importantly, we love having the chance to thank her for the many years she’s volunteered at Parkway Playhouse. Thank you for everything, Renee.

Be sure to purchase a $5 raffle ticket when you come to see The Quiltmaker.

quiltmaker banner copy

Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

Leave a Reply

