The Quiltmaker Actor Spotlight: Steve Elderbrock as Ronnie Combs

Mary Katherine Smith-Gall is Cindy (1)What has been your favorite moment from rehearsals?

Whenever Kristen would say: “You can go home now.” (ha – just kidding).  One of the joys of being in a small cast is that we have had lots of moments of joking and laughter throughout the rehearsal process, and a chance to get to know each other more than sometimes happens in larger shows.  I can’t pinpoint one favorite moment, because there have been many.  This has been a very enjoyable (and largely stress-free) show to be part of.

What’s the #1 reason someone should see this show?

There are many reasons to see this show – it has a mix of both comedy and drama, interesting characters, a window into life in the mountains which is certainly relevant to us here in western North Carolina, and some great music and quilts and props…mainly see it for the props (you’re welcome, Haven).  Also the opportunity to support a great local institution.

Do you have a fun family story you would like to share?

Well, there was that time we were growing pot in the backyard and the local sheriff showed up and Mommy pulled a gun on him…um, wait, wrong family.  My Mom always tells the story of the time when I was about 5 and she was scolding me for something I had done, and I looked up at her and said, “Yes, but look at all the love I brought into this family.”  I’m not sure it got me out of trouble, but it was a pretty good attempt.

What are you really bad at doing that people know you for?

Fashionable stylish dressing.

Do you have a favorite quilt?

I know almost nothing about quilting, but I do have a favorite.  When I left my first church in rural Minnesota, the women of the church made a quilt for me, with each of their names stitched into the back of it.  I treasure that quilt, and have it on my bed – although I hope to replace it with the really cool quilt that is being raffled off by the Playhouse!

Come see Steve and the rest of the cast of The Quiltmaker at Parkway Playhouse May 2nd-16th.

quiltmaker banner copy

Click here to buy tickets for The Quiltmaker! 

Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

Leave a Reply

