Annie, Jr. Actor Spotlights!

Baleigh Bryant is AnnieBaleigh Bryant (ANNIE)

Q – What has Parkway Playhouse Junior taught you about yourself?
A – To always keep trying and not to get nervous just do your best.
Q – Who is your favorite character and why?
A – My favorite character is Pepper because she is so sassy and, of course, Annie.
Q – What has been your greatest challenge during this process?
A – Learning how to sing the songs in all the right keys and learning how to read a little bit of music.
Q – Why do you think folks should come see this production?
A – Because it is going to be a lot of fun and you will to hear songs that you have always loved and it will make your heart feel good.

Levi Bradford is DADDY WARBUCKS

Levi Bradford (DADDY WARBUCKS)

Q – What has been your favorite part of participating in Annie, Jr. Production Class?
A – Getting to work with an amazing cast and getting to develop the character has always been my favorite part of being in any show.
Q – What are some similarities and differences between your character and you?
A – I don’t really have anything in common with the Billionaire Oliver Warbucks but there are plenty of differences. He’s rich, reserved, and very business minded while and I am not rich, don’t care about being reserved and am not a business person whatsoever.
Q – Who is your favorite character and why?
A – My favorite character is either Rooster (mainly because I love his song, Easy Street) or Warbucks, because he is just a great character to explore and create.
Q – What has been your greatest challenge during this process?
A – My greatest challenge thus far has been keeping Warbucks and serious and reserved person. All the other roles I’ve done have been characters who were silly or hammy (Willy Wonka and Nathan Detroit) so to play a character that is not is a big adjustment.

Liza

Liza Patrick (TESSIE)

Q – What has Parkway Playhouse Junior taught you about yourself?
A – That I love acting, singing, and dancing!!
Q – What do you have in common with your character? What are some differences?
A – I am very emotional like Tessie, and I’m different from her because I’m not an orphan.
Q – What have you learned from your fellow Parkway Playhouse Junior students during this process?
A – I have learned that I have many very talented friends!!
Q – Why do you think folks should come see this production?
A – People should come and see Annie Jr. because it is a fun, lovable, family show full of adventure and miracles that will surely touch your heart!!

Maggie Howell

Maggie Howell (MRS. PUGH)

Q – What has been your favorite part of being apart of Annie, Jr. so far?
A – Just being around everyone makes me laugh because they are all so funny and confident.
Q – What has Parkway Playhouse Junior taught you about yourself?
A – To not care what other people think of me.
Q – What have you learned from your fellow Parkway Playhouse Junior students during this process?
A – That they can be crazy and they are also really fun to be around.
Q – Why do you think folks should come see this production?
A – It’s a great show and everyone should come see it!

Lillian Hensley  ENSEMBLE

Lillian Hensley (ENSEMBLE)

Q – What has been your favorite part of being apart of Annie, Jr. so far?
A – Dancing and using our imaginations to develop our characters.
Q – What has Parkway Playhouse Junior taught you about yourself?
A – It has taught me that I am very entertaining.
Q – Who is your favorite character and why?
A – Rooster because I love villains!
Q – Why do you think folks should come see this production?
A – Annie is a great experience for all ages and we have worked hard and I think people will appreciate it.

Rigel Happer isLOUIS HOWE

Aneka Happer (Grace Ferrell)

“The character I play is Grace Farrell, private secretary to Olivier Warbucks. She is very proper, super organized and charged with the task of attending to Warbucks’s every need. She also shows a more maternal side when she’s with Annie. I really like kids and perhaps that’s one thing I have in common with Grace. I’m not sure how I would like her job though: having to be in charge of everybody and their jobs, seems like a huge pressure. Also, I don’t know if I could do everything Warbucks told me to without a question. This musical has been really fun and thanks to all our wonderful directors I have learned a lot! Parkway Playhouse has really taught me to be more confident in myself. Although learning new things may be intimidating, I think that it really helps boost my confidence. I’ve learned so much that I can put in my “toolbox” and the things I have learned have really helped me outside of theater as well.”

Rigel Happer (LOUIS HOWE)

“I really like being a part of the Annie Jr. cast because of all the great people I get to work with. It’s really fun getting know everyone. I like playing the warm up games; my favorite is probably Garden Statues. I’ve learned a lot from everyone too. One thing that really stuck with me was “go big or go home.” I think one of the biggest challenges for me right now is the fact that this is the first time I’ve been in a musical production and there is a lot to learn!”

Aaron Neighbors is Bert Healy

Aaron Neighbors (BERT HEALY)

Q – What has PPHJr taught you about yourself?
A – That I love to be on stage and I have the confidence to act, sing and dance in front of an audience.
Q – What has been your favorite part about Annie, Jr. so far?
A – The songs and choreography in the show are awesome! It’s hard work, but we always have a fun time at rehearsals.
Q – Who is your favorite character and why?
A – I like Oliver Warbucks because he is very kind and opens his home to Annie within the month that he meets her.
Q – Who is your character and what do you like about your character?
A – I play Bert Healy, a radio announcer. I like Bert Healy because he is very successful in his job and always wants to be the center of attention.
Q – Why do you think folks should come see this production?
A – Folks should come see this show because it’s a fantastic production and, also to support PPH Jr.

Isabelle Hughes is Mrs. GreerIsabelle Hughes (ANNETTE)

Q – What has been your favorite part of being apart of Annie, Jr. so far?
A – I enjoy the musical numbers. Annie has such fun music!
Q – What do you have in common with your character? What are some differences?
A – I have to clean sometimes, but I don’t get paid for it.
Q – Who is your favorite character and why?
A – I like Molly because she’s just so adorable.
Q – What have you learned from your classmates/fellow cast members during this process?
A – I’ve learned that we can accomplish a lot when we are focused and work together.


Olivia Hughes (LILY ST REGIS)

Q – What has been your favorite part of being apart of Annie, Jr. so far?
A – Learning Easy Street choreography! That’s always been my favorite number in Annie and I’m so glad that I get to be a part of it.
Q – What has Parkway Playhouse Junior taught you about yourself?
A – I’ve gained a lot of confidence over the course of 4 years with PPHJR. I’m not quite as timid when I’m around people who are passionate about the same thing as me.
Q – Who is your favorite character and why?
A – Hannigan all the way. Anytime she’s onstage, she never fails to make me laugh.
Q – Why do you think folks should come see this production?
A – Everybody loves Annie, right? And I think even those who aren’t necessarily fans of the show will enjoy themselves because of how much work everyone is putting into it.

Come see Baleigh, Levi, Liza, Maggie, Lillian, Rigel, Aneka, Aaron, Isabelle, Olivia, and the rest of the cast of Parkway Playhouse’s production of Annie, Jr. on May 22nd and 23rd at 7:30pm and May 23rd at 3pm on stage at Parkway Playhouse!

Tickets are general seating and available at the door one hour before performances. 

Photo of Aaron Neighbors by Rob Storrs

Annie Banner copy

Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

Leave a Reply

