Arcadia Actor Spotlight: Graham Livengood (EZRA CHATER)

Graham Livengood is Ezra Chater

Q – Why did you audition for Arcadia?

A – I haven’t done scripted theatre in a very long time. I love this script and wanted to be part of another production of the show. Plus, my wife is the General Manager at Parkway Playhouse, so this was a way that I might get to see her more often.

Q – What shows might people have seen you in before?

A – I used to do a lot of shows at Haywood Arts Regional Theatre (HART), including Arcadia, Parade, Titanic, Beauty Queen of Leenane and several others. Besides that, I was a founding member of The OxyMorons improv comedy troupe that played in Asheville and around the Southeast for about a decade after 2002.

Q – How have you prepared for your character?

A – I practiced by shouting ridiculous nonsense at random people in public, then when someone wanted to fight me I practiced slinking away like a coward. I also had a monkey bite me. I don’t recommend it.

Q – If you got to hang out with your character for a day where would take them and what would you talk about?

A – Me and Chater! Oh, what a day that would be. First, he would chase me out of his wife’s bed. Then, I would convince him to come hike with me to give him some inspiration for his new verse drama “The Poet and the Scoundrel.” He would get scared by every rustle of leaves, but we would eventually laugh about it. Or rather, I would continually laugh at him about it which would remind him that he wanted to shoot me. We would finally end the day with some open mic poetry reading in downtown Asheville. He would get applause and the minor accolades that he’s always truly wanted.

Q – What’s the #1 reason someone should see this show?

A – Me! Actually, they should see it for the whole phenomenal cast. Also, this is a great comedy. Come see it early, then come back and see it with a friend. You’ll laugh at more jokes and your friend will think you’re way smarter than they are. And since you saw the show twice, your friend is right!

Q – Anything else that you’d like people to know about you?

A – I used to raise llamas. Don’t believe me? Come find me afterwards and I’ll tell you the names of all of my favorites. I had 41 llamas at one point. Seriously. For really real.

Come see Graham and the rest of the cast of Tom Stoppard’s Arcadia June 6th-20th! 

CLICK HERE to buy tickets now!

CLICK HERE to see the trailer for this production!

11068083_368919603319251_2666054104507051541_n

Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

Leave a Reply

