Arcadia Actor Spotlight: Iain Alexander (BERNARD NIGHTENGALE)

Iain Alexander is Bernard Nightengale

Q – Why did you audition for Arcadia? 

A – I was performing a play in Asheville, NC with Andrew Gall. He mentioned he would be directing ARCADIA. I had never read the play, so I picked it up out of curiosity and fell in love with it, with all the characters. It was then that I decided to audition.

Q – What shows might people have seen you in before?

A – This is my first show with Parkway Playhouse. In Asheville, I played Hamlet for the Montford Park Players in 2013. More recently, I played Captain Delancy on AMC network’s TURN: WASHINGTON’S SPIES.

Q – What has been your favorite moment from rehearsals?

A – That’s possibly the most difficult question you could ask. The entire process has been so creative and so fulfilling. I am working with some of the most talented actors in this area, it’s fantastic. I am very grateful for the experience.

Q – What is your favorite line from the show?

A – Right, scratch my earlier statement, this is the most difficult question. I’ll just cut and paste the entire script as my answer. Every line is brilliant.

Q – How have you prepared for your character? Did you base your character on someone?

A – I haven’t based Bernard Nightingale on anyone, no. However, I did meet with Dr. David Mycoff of Warren Wilson College to talk about the play and my character and everything in between. I did a lot of research and read a lot of books. I read Lord Byron religiously. I am still doing research, in fact. I have become obsessed with the regency period and the romantic poets. And the accent, of course, has been a difficult part of my preparation.

Q – Anything else that you’d like people to know about you?

A – Well, not about me, no. but the production, ARCADIA, should not be missed. It is a play that speaks to the mind, the heart, and the soul–and it’s really funny, too!

Come see Iain and the rest of the cast of Tom Stoppard’s Arcadia June 6th-20th!

CLICK HERE to buy tickets now!

CLICK HERE to see the trailer for this production!

11068083_368919603319251_2666054104507051541_n

Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

Leave a Reply

