RED Actor Spotlight: Patrick Cronin (MARK ROTHKO)

REDat Parkway PlayhouseAugust 22nd-September (1)

Q – What shows might people have seen you in before?

A – Over 200 TV shows and movies including Seinfeld (The Bra Guy, Sid Farkus), Star Trek (TNG Erko), and Alice series regular and most of the major shows of the 80s and 90s such as Cheers, Night Court, Home Improvement….Movies include Rocky V and Splash.

Q – What is a typical day like for you?

A – I’m a professor at East Tennessee State University and have two students on Broadway right now and a dozen others in LA and/or NY or who run programs: Acting head at Furman (Meagan McNearny Azur), Matt Weedman at Northern Iowa, and James Patrick Cronin (son) who has read over 100 books on Audible and is one of the most successful readers right now.

Q – What has been your favorite moment from rehearsals?

A – Working with Jared and Bobby and Andrew.  I love process.  I also loved the discoveries that his play allows.

Q – What challenges have you faced during rehearsal?

A – Learning the damn lines!!!!

Q – How does it feel playing an actual person?

A – No different than say Willy Loman. They are all “real” for me.  Now if he were say George Washington we might have a different conversation but Rothko is no well known today as to who he is/was.

Q – How have you prepared for your character?

A – I am mostly a Stanislavski working performer….inside out ….but I am also a former night club performer so I have a sense of what “works and what doesn’t work”

Q – What can you tell us about the show?

A – In my opinion it is not about Rothko but is rather about what is art and what is the nature of passion in Art. Who creates?  Why?  Who should care?  Do we need to know Nietzsche?  I think so; so does Rothko.  Living is learning and we “defeat” the past by knowing it.  That is what the play is about for me

Q – What do the Rothko paintings mean to you?

A – I actually am not a true Rothko fan.  I greatly admire his work but I actually, and he would hate me, prefer Lichtenstein and Warhol.

Q – If you got to hang out with your character for a day where would take them and what would you talk about?

A – I don’t think he’d let me take him anywhere.  I’d be grateful to hear from him and to follow him wherever he wanted to go.

Q – What’s the #1 reason someone should see this show?

A – It’s funny and it’s fast and it makes you think.  John Logan is a top notch writer and his show Penny Dreadful on Showtime is one of the best shows on T.V.

Q – Anything else that you’d like people to know about you?

A – I love Burnsville; I love Susan Martin; I love Kristen and MKSG and I love Parkway and want to meet more people!

Come see Patrick Cronin in RED at Parkway Playhouse!

CLICK HERE to buy tickets now!

red banner copy

Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

Leave a Reply

