The Glass Menagerie Actor Spotlight: Alesa Bryant (AMANDA)

The Glass Menagerie-3

Q – Why did you audition for The Glass Menagerie?
A – When I was a little, little girl, I remember seeing the black and white Glass Menagerie on TV. Even then I knew there was something special about this show. Years later, throughout the many times I dissected the script. I was, and am still awed by its beauty, layers, and imagery. For me The Glass Menagerie is almost sacred, and I am honored to be a part of the production.

Q – What shows might people have seen you in before?
A – Walking Across Egypt and The Quiltmaker most recently.

Q – What is a typical day like for you? 
A – I just retired from teaching high school English and drama. Now I spend my days far away from academia where I listen to crickets, smell the earth, and feel tall grass tickle my legs as a I walk through the fields.

Q – What has been your favorite moment from rehearsals?
A – Watching the people I work with. I am simply overwhelmed by their talent and insight.

Q – What is your favorite line from the show? 
A – I don’t have a favorite line, but I do have a favorite series of images. I love that Tennessee Williams establishes that Laura is, indeed, glass and that light, when shone through glass, creates rainbows. When light is brought to Laura in the final scene, we see her living in a “rainbow,” somewhere “brief and deceptive.” Tom’s final monologue underscores the imagery when he refers to “bits of a shattered rainbow” as he tells his sister to “blow out your candles,” thus extinguish the light that was brought before glass. Sorry, I taught American Literature…the teacher-ish-ness came out.

Q – What’s the #1 reason someone should see this show?
A – People should see this play for the same reason they should stand during the National Anthem.

Come see Alesa and the rest of the cast of The Glass Menagerie at Parkway Playhouse September 19-October 3rd!

CLICK HERE to buy tickets now!

Glass Menagerie Banner

Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

Leave a Reply

