My Experience as a Parkway Playhouse College Intern – by Robby Taylor

IMG_1183“Interning at Parkway Playhouse was an amazing learning experience as well as being one of the most fun-filled summers I have ever had in my life! I learned about several areas of theatre I had never experienced before like running sound for Arcadia and helping design the slideshow that ran onscreen behind Elsey. This was coupled with normal ‘normal’ theatre duties like working backstage, working in the ‘Chuvala Scene Shop,’ digging for props in ‘The Dungeon’ and working backstage on multiple productions. The staff and other interns at Parkway were terrific to work with and since my time there they have always been available for advice both for life and performance. In a world where knowing someone can make all the difference, my background at Parkway is invaluable. All of these experiences were great, but the thing that made my time at Parkway stand out as a life-changing summer was the inside look at how a local theatre functions behind the scenes. As an intern, I attended production meetings, helped design the set for a Parkway Playhouse Junior Playhouse production, and I was able to watch professional actors perform as well as performing in a production myself. As someone who wants to eventually be a director at a community theatre somewhere, this experience was more useful than I will ever adequately be able to say! I will always remember the summer I spent at Parkway as the place I met some of the best friends I will ever have as well as an essential building block to success.” ~Robby Taylor from East Tennessee State University

For more information on our College Intern Program, click the image of Robby as the Elvis inspired roustabout (from our 2015 Production of All Shook Up) below:_DSC9074 - Version 2

To hear from one of our 2014 College Interns, CLICK HERE.

 

Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

Leave a Reply

