Steel Magnolias Actor Spotlight: Jenny Martin (Truvy)

Jenny Martinis Truvy

Q – Why did you decide to audition for Steel Magnolias at Parkway Playhouse this season? 

A – Steel Magnolias is one of my favorite plays of all time. I played Clairee in high school, (directed by Alesa Bryant, who is playing Ouiser) and the cast developed such a special bond; I still talk to all the other actresses in it today. I have been waiting for a few years to “age into” playing Truvy, so when I found out Parkway had Steel Magnolias on their season, I jumped at the chance. This play holds such a special place in my heart. It’s amazing how much my view of the play has changed as I’ve gotten older, had children, and experienced loss. It has become even more special to me as time goes on.

Q – What shows might people have seen you in before?

A – Most recently, I was in the It’s a Wonderful Life: Live Radio Play; I have also played Maggie in Dancing at Lughnasa, Elizabeth in Pride and Prejudice, and Sis in Leaving Iowa, all at Parkway Playhouse.

Q – Describe a day in the life of JENNY MARTIN?

A – I am the middle school drama teacher at both Cane River and East Yancey Middle Schools, which I have been doing for 13 years. My free time is taken up with chasing my 4 year old, Emerson, and 1 year old, Juliet. My husband, Colby Martin is the Northwestern Regional Director for the NC Community Foundation and has performed in several Parkway plays himself.

Q – What has been your favorite moment from rehearsals?

A – Telling and listening to hilarious stories from other members of the cast and crew. We have had a ball getting to know one another, and getting off task together.

Q –  What is your favorite line from the show? 

A – I love when Truvy tells Annelle, “Just look at me Annelle. It takes some effort to look like this,” and “there is no such thing as natural beauty.” It so perfectly sums up Truvy’s over-the-top personality, and the era of the 1980s.

Q –  Do you have an interesting experience that happened in a beauty shop in your lifetime that you’d like to share?

A – I have been going to the same beauty shop since I was two years old, and it’s a lot like Steel Magnolias. Miss Pam has seen it all when it comes to my hair, including cutting my own bangs at age 6 (which she tried to fix), and me accidentally dying my own hair greyish-green at age 22 (which she fixed at 6:30AM so I could go to work on time). I have learned not to mess with my own hair; leave it to the professionals!

Q – What’s the #1 reason someone should see this production?

A – There isn’t another play I can think of that is written with such a perfect dynamic of comedy and drama. If “laughter through tears” is your favorite emotion, as Truvy says, you will enjoy this show.

Come see Jenny and the rest of the cast of Steel Magnolias in Parkway Playhouse’s 70th Anniversary Season May 7-21!

CLICK HERE to buy tickets now!

steel mags

Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

Leave a Reply

