The Ballad of Frankie Silver Actor Spotlight: Shelby Ashley (Frankie Silver)

Shelby Ashley isFrankie Silver

Q – Why did you decide to audition for The Ballad of Frankie Silver at Parkway Playhouse this season?

A – The show really interested me, and I had actually been told her story when I was younger. So I had a little bit of a background in knowing about Frankie and diving into her story more through Parkway has been great.

 

Q –  What shows might people have seen you in before?

A – This is my first show with Parkway, every other show that I have been in has been with my former high school, Cloudland, in Roan Mountain TN. A couple of shows have been in were The Little Mermaid, and The Wizard of Oz.

 

Q – How would you describe a day in the life of Shelby Ashley?

A – My day usually consists of going to college at Northeast State in Blountville TN. However, for the summer I am a college intern here at Parkway Playhouse, and I get to help make props and I have a lot of hands on work. In some spare time I really like to paint. It’s my second love, after acting.

Q – What has been your favorite moment from rehearsals?

A – Favorite part so far is definitely the fight choreography. I never thought I would enjoy punching someone in the face, the stage way, as much as I have.

Q – What is your favorite line from the show?

A – My favorite line is from one of the many monologues from Burgess Gaither. “Mary is a strong minded woman with more opinions than God gave congress.” I love the fact that we have headstrong woman in the 1830s and the fact that she is very opinionated makes me happy.

Q – How does working on an original adaptation differ from other productions you’ve been apart of?

A – You definitely have to keep up and adapt to many many changes. It’s close to opening and we are still getting script cuts and we have to learn our lines differently. With other shows they are pretty set and don’t have many changes, but I really like having a new, raw script that no one has ever done.
Q –  What’s the #1 reason someone should see this production?
A – It is a beautiful story with so much in it than just Frankie’s side of the story. I’ve fallen in love with the fact of how it happen right here. So many people around here have known this story, and it opens a window for people that haven’t seen many plays to come see this one.

Come see Shelby and the rest of the cast of The Ballad of Frankie Silverthe 2nd show in our 70th Anniversary Season!

CLICK HERE to buy tickets now!

Frankie Silver Banner copy

Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

Leave a Reply

