The Ballad of Frankie Silver Actor Spotlight: Anna Brown (Pauline/Presnell/Ensemble)

Anna Brown is Pauline%2FPresnell

Q –  Why did you decide to audition for The Ballad of Frankie Silver at Parkway Playhouse this season?

A – I have always wanted to do something like this; I have been a lover of theater, dance, music & the arts since I was a child! After reading the book I was even more excited to be a part of this historical play! Does this show mean anything special to you personally? Absolutely! I’ve never been in a play before and now, at age 54, I finally get to make my dreams come true! What better way, than to make my debut with an Andrew Gall original play, created from Sharyn McCrumb’s Best Selling and intriguing book about a local historical event! I am quite excited!

Q –  How would you describe a day in the life of Anna Brown?

A – Lately my husband and I are trying to start farming up on Lost Hollow in Burnsville, NC. We moved from FL to grow food and possibly make some earth homes as cottages on our property. Right now, we’ve been busy prepping and planting in between the rains. Our 3 grown sons may come stay a spell with us this summer to help out and secure their spot on our property. My family is very important to me!
I am currently a licensed health agent with a background in sales, customer service and mortgages currently looking for employment in this area, but may be starting work in Weaverville for online banking.

I enjoy my family, children and grandchildren; the outdoors, nature, animals, everything spiritual, as well as, good conversation, playing games, music, dancing and eating! LOL!
I enjoy being active and socializing, doing fun things with others; but also need and value my alone time in nature as well.
Q – What has been your favorite moment from rehearsals?

A – Watching the other actors getting into their roles, it’s like watching the play already! I love watching people enjoy themselves and work towards a higher purpose! I also enjoy getting into character, especially since I have several very different roles! : )

Q –  What is your favorite line from the show?

A – Probably something from Burgess Gaither…like, “Ah, Mary Erwin…now there’s a woman with more opinions than all of Congress!” or any line from Helen Honeycutt. Why? It’s funny.

 

Q –  What’s the #1 reason someone should see this production?

A – Because the book was amazing and the play really highlights most of the characters really well. It’s like witnessing a historical event spanning from 1832 to 1998…very cool! Andrew really did a great job putting it all together!

Q – Anything else that you’d like people to know?

A – I am currently looking for meaningful work, something fun, outdoorsy, educational or good for the spirit and soul. (Hey, can’t blame a girl for throwing that out there! LOL!)

Come see Anna and the rest of the cast of The Ballad of Frankie Silver as part of Parkway Playhouse’s 70th Anniversary Season!

CLICK HERE to buy tickets now!

Frankie Silver Banner copy

Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

Leave a Reply

