The Ballad of Frankie Silver Actor Spotlight: Courtney Malone (Nora Bonesteel)

 

Courtney Malone isNora Bonesteel
Picture by Rob Storrs. Copyright 2016 Rob Storrs. 

Q – Why did you decide to audition for The Ballad of Frankie Silver at Parkway Playhouse this season? 

A – I haven’t been in a show for over 10 years. I owned a Children’s theater in Florida and was busy directing. When I moved to Burnsville I decided it was time to get back on the stage.

Q – What shows might people have seen you in before?

A – I was Guenevere in Camelot and Evie in Stop the World.

Q – How would you describe a day in the life of Courtney Malone?

A – I am a full time music teacher in Buncombe County. I have two girls in middle school. I also have 3 rescue dogs, 4 rescue cats, a bunny, a hamster and 16 chickens! I love animals. I also love being outside and enjoying nature. I am working for Zen Tubing this summer just for fun!

Q – What has been your favorite moment from rehearsals?

A – I enjoy getting to know everyone especially since I am new to town.

Q – What is your favorite line from the show?

A – I love when Dr. Banner tells Nora “I’m sure you’re lovely. “

Q – How does working on an original adaptation differ from other productions you’ve been apart of?

A – Developing my character has been difficult. I had never read the stories and was not familiar with the story. It has been challenging.

Q – What’s the #1 reason someone should see this production?

A – It’s a thrilling story. One that happened right here in the back yard!

Come see Courtney and the rest of the cast of The Ballad of Frankie Silver as part of Parkway Playhouse’s 70th Anniversary Season!

CLICK HERE to buy tickets now!

Frankie Silver Banner copy

Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

Leave a Reply

