Actor Spotlight: Trenton Fines

Grease - trenton

I initially auditioned for the 2016 season as a whole because as an aspiring performer, I would like to get as much experience as I can. I thought Parkway would be a great choice to begin my professional career, as evidence by the caliber of shows that they produce.

Grease means a lot to me! I was in a production of Grease in high school, where I played the lovable nerd, Eugene. It was an amazing experience because I got to explore so much with that role, and my high school sold out a 700+ seat theatre for two showings of it. I’m not proud of that fact, or anything. 😉

This is my first year working at Parkway, but I have been on ETSU’s mainstage as Angel Dumott Schunard in RENT, Hecuba in The Trojan Women, Ali Hakim in Oklahoma!, Tripp Wyeth in Other Desert Cities, among others.

I am a double-major in Theatre and Elementary Education at East Tennessee State University. On a typical day, you are most likely going to find me running around the campus and the surrounding area. I am approaching my fifth, and final year, where I’ll be student teaching in a third grade classroom. If I have any free time, you can probably find me onstage, with friends, watching SpongeBob SquarePants with my two roommates, or sleeping.

I’m a people person, so I have loved getting to know the wonderful cast that I have had the pleasure of working with. There are many unique and talented individuals that I now call friends. Dance is also a big love of mine, so learning some of the intense choreography for Grease has definitely been a highlight, as well.

Reagan James, who plays Frenchy, is one of my best friends in the world, and we seem to always have a connection on stage in some way. So, it was definitely fate that we were cast as a high school girl and her guardian angel, who is just a figment of her imagination. We’ve had a such a fun time developing our characters through ‘Beauty School Dropout’ and I hope you all can see how much fun we have during that number.

You should come see this production because “Grease is the Word”! Who would ever pass up an opportunity to see Grease performed live?! We also have an amazing company, crew, and production staff that has made this larger-than-life musical happen, and you should see all of their hard work. Trust me, it will blow you out of the water.

Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

Leave a Reply

