Actor Spotlight: Reagan James

Grease - Reagan

“It’s Grease! There is no way to avoid having fun at this show!” Reagan tells me. She is cute and bubbly – like any perfect pink lady should be. It is easy to see why she was cast as “Frenchy” in this production.

“Grease has been my favorite movie/musical since first grade. I collected all the Grease Barbie Dolls and everything when I was little! Finding out that I was going to have the opportunity to be in my favorite show was probably the most exciting news ever! I remember in first grade I would always practice doing dances to “You’re the One That I Want” up and down the steps at recess. Sometimes I would even take a pair of heels to school with me so I would always be ready to dance in heels! At one point I even assigned characters to all the other kids in my class and would make them play the different parts with me.”

Parkway Playhouse patrons will easily recognize Reagan as “Shelby” from our recent production of “Steel Magnolias.” As a theatre major at ETSU and she has been in several shows there as well, some of which include Mimi in Rent and Ado Annie in Oklahoma.

A typical day for Reagan consists of waking up early and teaching cheer camps in the morning. Latin class in the afternoons. Then driving straight to rehearsal from Johnson City TN. Driving takes up most of her free time, and has led to a beautiful friendship with audiobooks and talking on the phone with her lovely mom.

When asked about her favorite moments from rehearsing the show she doesn’t hesitiate, “The cast is so much fun to work with, and everyone really has a great energy to them! It is usually just the little moments like dancing back stage that make my night! We’ve spent a lot of time together and everyone is really in tune with each other, which has been super helpful. I have battled kidney stones for several weeks of rehearsals, and everyone went out of their way to make sure I was ok through the whole process.”

She wraps up our interview with her favorite line as Frenchy, “Gee, the whole crowd’s together again. I’m so happy I could cry.”

“I say “Awe, I’m going to cry” on a daily basis.” she admits to me.

We assure you that this production of “Grease” will give you nothing to cry about, unless it’s tears of joy! Come see Reagan and the rest of the amazing cast in “Grease” opening THIS WEEKEND!

Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

Leave a Reply

