Actor Spotlight: Connor Dalton

Untitled design (3)
Connor Dalton stars as “Kenickie” in this season’s production of Grease. He graciously shared some of his thoughts on this production and life in general for this “Actor Spotlight.”
“When I was 11, I went on my first date to see a production of Grease Jr. that some of my friends were in. I tried to kiss my date on the cheek at the end of the show, but found out that I wasn’t actually on a date, and that she thought I was weird and just wanted to see the show. So I will always have that embarrassing connection to Grease!
This is my first show at Parkway, so I’m very excited about that! I’ve taken a break from doing theatre for a bit while I focus on getting my degree and raising a child, so I haven’t been in anything for a skinny minute. For any of you youth theatre directors and choreographers, you can find me in several choreography DVD’s from MTI! Specifically, I was: Prince Eric for the  Little Mermaid Jr. DVD, Dr. Dolittle for the Dr. Dolittle DVD, Woody Mahoney for the Finian’s Rainbow Jr. DVD, and in the ensemble for the Winnie the Pooh Jr. DVD. I also was a member of the Asheville Performing Arts Academy for 9 years as well as very active in my high school theatre. My favorites were Nicky in Avenue Q, Sir Galahad in Spamalot, Sky Masterson in Guys and Dolls, Mercutio in Romeo and Juliet, and the Beadle Bamford in Sweeney Todd.
I am a Vocal Performance major at Mars Hill University as well as a father and husband. I normally wake up really early to start warming up my voice and get ready in time to make the daily 45 minute drive to be at Mars Hill at 8:00 am. Then I spend the day learning about music, practicing repertoire, composing my own music, and practicing piano (I’m terrible). Then around 5:30-6:00 pm I drive back home and spend my evening playing with my daughter and making jokes with my beautiful wife. Basically, I’m living the dream. I spend my days surrounded by talented musicians and wonderful and supportive faculty. I spend my nights surrounded by the loves of my life, and being so happy that I can’t hardly believe it!
Without a doubt, my favorite part of this production has been getting to know the cast and crew. Parkway Playhouse is filled with dedicated and talented artists, and that’s the type of people I like to be around. Not to mention, they are really funny. Like hilarious. I don’t think there has been a single rehearsal that we haven’t spent 25% of the time laughing. This cast has such an amazing ability to ad lib and make choices that really bring a new life and energy to this show. It’s really been amazing to work with these people.

Why should people come to the show? Plain and simple, Grease is just a fun show. You’ll sit in your seat throughout the entire show and you won’t think about anything else that’s going on in your life. You’ll escape the real world into the world of Grease, and hopefully walk out happier than when you walked in.”

Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

Leave a Reply

