Actor Spotlight: Richard Jackson

Grease - actor spotlight2

“Grease” is something that I’ve loved since I was a kid.  Growing up with 4 older sisters you are introduced to various things and forms of torture, unfortunately.  No I’m kidding, I honestly owe my love for musical theatre to them and can’t thank them enough for forcing me to watch – haha.

This is my first show at Parkway! But I’ve done a variety of shows at Northeast State Community College under the direction of Brad Mckenzie and Elizabeth Sloan.  “Night of the living Dead” (my personal favorite), to the classic “Treasure Island” and an adaption of “A Christmas Carol” set in a steam punk Victorian-esque period where I played Ebenezer Scrooge.  All loads of fun to do and some of my favorite roles.  I was also a Barter Player last summer where we did 3 shows including “The Jungle Book” and “Rapunzel” and I got to play Shere Khan!  I was also in my first two shows (RACE and The Night Thoreau Spent In Jail) this past school year at ETSU.
I am in school at ETSU and will return this year as a senior which I’m very excited about.  Currently I do not have a job outside of Parkway, but in my free time I enjoy hanging with friends and just listening to music, singing, dancing and playing video games or watching Netflix, not much else goes on outside of rehearsal.
It’s hard to choose a favorite song from “Grease.”  I’d say it’s a tie between running “Grease Lightning” and “Summer Lovin.” The energy is just incredible. What my favorite line? Probably “Friggin’A!” it’s like the catch phrase of the T-birds and it’s so ridiculous yet so satisfying to say.
Everyone needs to see “Grease” because it’s so much fun! Which to me is what theatre is all about.  Not every production is gonna leave the audience questioning their lives or have some moral revelation.  Some productions are just fun to watch and so fun that it makes you want to get up on stage and dance and sing with the cast.  I think That’s what “Grease” does and that’s why we love it so much. This cast and crew have given lengthy amounts of time to make this a great show and we couldn’t be happier for people to see it.  Don’t forget to  have fun!
Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

One thought on “Actor Spotlight: Richard Jackson”

  1. Enjoyed your performance soo much.You are a great Danny and love the singing.Good luck with whatever you do in future.Very talented young man

Leave a Reply

