Actor’s Spotlight–Megan Gatts

gattsGatsby is the perfect vehicle for me. I hadn’t been in a non-musical in a while and thought it would just be fun to wear 1920’s fashions. I love Fitzgerald’s writing and his use of color as a symbol. And I found it curious that my last name, “Gatts,” was so close to “Gatsby”—half the reason that I read the novel in the first place.

Before Gatsby I was in the Grease ensemble. Before that, Seussical on Main stage. And five years ago in Boone, I was in my college’s production of The Vagina Monologues.

Gatsby consumes the weekend, but in between shows, I’ll admit life is slow at the moment. When I’m not working in the box office at Parkway Playhousetumblr_oa0z1qdwju1tqvueno1_500, I mostly hang out at home and try to convince myself to work on some art. When that gets old, I’ll catch whatever’s playing at Yancey Theatre, grab an iced coffee at Appalachian Java, or just do a little thrift shopping.

When I was in rehearsal, I had great fun. I adored making friends with the rest of the cast, but there was one moment that stands out—during our final “dress” rehearsal. None of our run crew and very few of our sound and lights people were available, so we opted to just do a quick run-through of the show with no costumes or makeup and go home early. It was hilarious! Gatsby is a totally different play when you do it at twice the speed and with a touch of irreverence. I was in a bit of a “show” rut that night and having some fun with it really perked me up.

When I was asked for my favorite line, I thought of many great ones, but one…“Gatsby turned out alright at the end. But it’s what preyed on Gatsby, what foul dust floated in the wake of his dreams that’s been haunting me… and haunts me still.” That stuck with me. It’s an interesting thought, that a man who died turned out all right, and it’s the ones who are still alive that we should pity.

And finally, although my life is nothing like Gatsby, I love being in it, love thinking about that era, and think that everyone should come and see it for themselves.

 

Megan plays Mrs. McKee and Mrs. Michaels

 

 

Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

Leave a Reply

