Actor Spotlight: Oliva Morgan

Olivia Morgan, a junior at Mountain Heritage High School, will cast a spell over you as the Witch in this weekend’s performance of Into the Woods, Jr. at Parkway Playhouse.
IMG_2168
PPJR: So, this is your 11th show at Parkway Playhouse… That’s a lot! What has been different this time around?
Olivia:  The physicality of the Witch is something I’ve struggled with throughout this entire process, and honestly I’m still working on it. I feel like she has a very distinct way of movement, and I’m still experimenting with it. However, I feel as though I’ve found the way she thinks and acts, and her vocal quality. Before this show, finding the physicality of my roles has been much easier. I’ve enjoyed the challenge!
PPJR:  Is there someone you model yourself after?
Olivia: With this role, it’s hard not to find all of your inspiration in the great Meryl Streep. Her rendition of the Witch, in my opinion, is absolutely amazing. Of course, I have found inspiration in her, but I try my hardest at every rehearsal to make this role my own and really connect with the Witch.
In Olivia’s own words:
I’ve been with Parkway Playhouse Junior since 2012, and the Parkway Playhouse Main Stage shows since 2014. Joining this program has absolutely changed my life for the better. I completely changed as a person when I began working in the theatre. Working as an apprentice for the past two years has been a blessing as well. I’ve learned so much about the theatre, and how to ultimately live a good life. The lessons you learn in the theatre expand throughout your entire life. Not just acting!
Traveling to the Junior Theatre Festival with PPHJr for the past 3 years has given me the experience of a lifetime. Not only have I been able to meet many different people from around the world, but I’ve gotten to enrich my theatre experience in so many different ways through this amazing program. (And meet some famous people as well!) I’ll forever be thankful for the amazing people and experiences at the Parkway Playhouse, and I can’t wait to go see the main stage productions this summer! Enjoy the show!
Into the Woods, Jr. has performances this Friday and Saturday at 6pm. On Sunday, several of the understudies will step into the lime light for the 3pm show. Tickets are available at the door.
Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

Leave a Reply

