Actor Spotlight: Myra McCoury

We all know and love Myra McCoury, which is why we wouldn’t miss an opportunity to talk with her a little more!dah dah DUMMMM

PP: You graduated from App State last spring… so catch us up… what’s been going on in your life since then?

Since last spring I have completed one year of graduated school at Appalachian in English Literature. Because I did an Accelerated Masters program, taking some graduate courses as an undergrad, I have already completed a year and a half of the grad program and will be graduating this coming December. After graduating I plan to teach, either theater, English, or both (fingers crossed) to high school students, ideally somewhere in Western NC.

PP: As a perennial Parkway Playhouse performer, you’ve developed some great female friendships over the years… How have you gotten along with the other women in the cast of The 39 Steps?  * smirk *

Myra:  I will admit, when I was first cast in the show, I thought it might be a bit weird being the only female in the show, but I was sold on the whole having the entire dressing room to myself idea (wink wink). Actually, in all honesty, though I have developed some strong friendships with my female co-stars of all ages over the years, I have loved the experience of holding my own as the only female character. Working with my incredibly talented male co-stars has really given me the opportunity to refine my uniqueness as a female character actor.shoeless

PP: What was appealing to you about this role and play?

Myra: This play was immediately appealing to me when I heard that I would be playing multiple characters, as character acting, accents, and all around over-the-topness is my forte. I also greatly enjoy the physical comedy embedded in the show. I have been pretend tripping and falling, purposefully running into walls, and sitting on whoopee cushions to get a laugh out folks for as long as my friends and family can recall. So, you might say physical comedy is just a part of my personality.

knockPP:  What is your favorite rehearsal moment?

Myra:  My favorite moment from rehearsal is actually a repeated thing that happened each night right on cue—that is, Bruce, our technical director, breaking his silence to crack a laugh at Jake’s line, “Alright. Alright. Albright.” Though this is a funny line, no one quite appreciated its humor in rehearsal like Bruce. I believe it’s his favorite moment of the show.

stuck

PP: This show is so funny, but do you have a favorite scene? 

Myra:  This question is a toughie because I really don’t think there is a dry scene in the show. My favorite that I’m in is Annabella Schmidt’s death scene. The over-the- top, convulsive physical comedy is reminiscent of some of the work of Madeline Kahn and Lucille Ball, two of my most admired female comedians. Like Kahn and Ball, I love the challenge of making physical comedy work. Largely, the success of a physical bit is dependent on how ridiculous you are willing to look, and for those who know me well and even those who don’t, looking foolish is possibly my greatest talent, and I greatly enjoy doing it.


Don’t miss Miss Myra this weekend! Show times are…

Friday and Saturday at 7:30pm and Sunday at 3pm

Call 828.682.4285 or CLICK HERE to purchase tickets!

Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

Leave a Reply

