Actor Spotlight: Olivia Hughes as a Younger Bonnie Parker

Olivia is one of those homegrown talents who has taken advantage of every opportunity at Parkway Playhouse: as a student performer in Parkway Playhouse Junior, as a summer apprentice working both behind the scenes and onstage, and as a mainstage performer.

Olivia as Younger Bonnie small.jpg

PP:  What are the differences between Junior and Mainstage productions for you? 

Olivia:  One thing I have always loved about being in Mainstage shows is watching and working with the professionals. I have found that this makes me push myself and hold myself to higher standards than usual. However, in Junior productions, I have been given more opportunities to play lead roles in musicals than I have on the Mainstage. As one of the “big kids” in these shows, I am someone that the younger students are watching, so it’s a weird switch from when I am one of the youngest actors in the mainstage shows. Sadly, this is my last year with Parkway Playhouose Jr. as I am a rising senior, but I am so thankful for the past six years with this program and everything it has taught me!

olivia-mayzie.jpg

PP: Since you are playing a younger version of Annelise, what have you done to be her? Have you tried adopting any of her mannerisms or inflections? 

50bccde47f981e9911477c2fb401f61d-bonnie-parker-bonnie-clydeOlivia:  I play fifteen year old Bonnie, so I play her a little brattier than Annelise does, but her dreams of fame were a major part of her identity even before then. I mainly try to portray Bonnie to be a headstrong and determined woman as Annelise seems to do so flawlessly.

As far as mannerisms go, I didn’t intentionally pick up on any. However, in a recent rehearsal I was watching a scene for the first time and noticed something she did and thought, “I do that when I’m singing in Picture Show at the beginning!” It’s a very Clara Bow type of pose, so maybe we both drew our inspiration from that.

You too will be inspired by the incredible music, voices, and talent on the stage during this show! Make plans to see it today.

bonnie & clyde banner

Call 828.682.4285 to purchase tickets or get them ONLINE.

Published by

parkwayplayhouse

Parkway Playhouse, located in the Appalachian town of Burnsville, NC, is a haven of theatre talent. While people come to the mountains to get away, Parkway Playhouse is a natural gathering place to connect. Likewise, we are an extension of traditional mountain talents: singing, dancing, and, foremost, storytelling. By giving rise to energetic new voices and through a wide variety of plays and musicals, we invite our audience into experiences that are thought-provoking, adventurous, and entertaining. Together we reimagine the world in every live performance, creating dynamic conversations that last far beyond the curtain call. This blog is will feature stories, helpful information, insight and features about the performances.

Leave a Reply

